The county is located in Eastern Equatoria State, in southern South Sudan. It is bordered to the west and north by Juba County, by Torit County to the north east, by Ikotos County to the southeast and by the Republic of Uganda to the south. The county headquarters at Magwi, are located approximately 140 kilometres (87 mi), by road, southeast of Juba, the capital and largest city in the country. Towns include Nimule, Pageri, Magwi, Palotaka and Pajok.