Districts of Republican Subordination

Districts of Republican Subordinationis a region in Tajikistan, consisting of 13 districts which are directly under central rule.
The plateau is traversed by the Vakhsh River, a right-hand tributary of the Amu Darya. On the northern border run the Gissar and Zeravshan mountains, and on the southern border the Darvaz range 7,600 metres (24,900 ft) . The area is 28,400 square kilometres (11,000 sq mi). The winter climate is extremely severe; snow begins to fall in October and it is May before it disappears. During the warmer months, however, the mountainsides are richly clothed with the foliage of maple, mountain ash, apple, pear and walnut trees; the orchards furnish, not only apples and pears, but peaches, cherries, mulberries and apricots. Both cattle and horses are of a small and hardy breed.