Cusco Region

Cusco (also spelled Cuzco) is a region in Peru. It is bordered by the Ucayali Region on the north; the Madre de Dios and Puno regions on the east; the Arequipa Region on the south; and the Apurímac, Ayacucho and Junín regions on the west. Its capital is Cusco, the capital of the Inca Empire.


The plain of Anta contains some of the best communal cultivated lands of the Cusco Region. It is located about 3,000 meters above sea level and is used to cultivate mainly high altitude crops such as potatoes, tarwi (edible lupin), barley and quinoa.