Central Uganda

The Central region is one of four regions in the country of Uganda.
The regions of Uganda are known as Central, Western, Eastern, and Northern. These four regions are in turn divided into districts. There were 56 districts in 2002, which expanded into 111 districts plus one city (Kampala) by 2010.
The national government interacts directly with the districts today, so regions do not have any definite role in the administration. Under British rule prior to 1962 the regions were functional administrative units and were called provinces, headed by a Provincial Commissioner. The central region is the kingdom of Buganda, which then had a semi-autonomous government headed by the Kabaka (king).